Ipsy Review August 2016

Ipsy Review august 2016

Ipsy Review august 2016 – I refer to Ipsy as old faithful. It’s one of the original beauty subscriptions, which means it has been around for quite some time. This means that they are established and worked out their kinks a long time ago. I know what to expect with this subscription. They keep it consistent, no frills or gimmicks, and the price point is amazing. Or in other words……old faithful.

Ipsy Review August 2016 1
Ipsy Details

If you aren’t familiar with Ipsy it is one of the original beauty subscription boxes (or bags in this case) and each month they send you 4-5 deluxe samples and full-sized beauty products.

Ipsy Review August 2016 2

The Box: Ipsy

Cost: $10 per month

Ships to: Canada & US

Shipping Cost: $4.95 to Canada, Free to US

What You Get: Each month, subscribers will receive a beautiful Glam Bag with deluxe samples and full-sized beauty products.

Ipsy Review August 2016 3
Why I Love Ipsy

I feel like it’s important for me to talk about the specifics from time to time, and today I want to talk about why I love Ipsy. It’s pretty self-explanatory, but for all those newbies out there, here is the recap. Ipsy is one of the original beauty subscription boxes, which means they are established, this is important when it comes to subscription boxes. They are also one of the least expensive beauty boxes on the market. I always say that anything under $20 is a good price, but Ipsy comes in way lower than that at $10 per month. They also include some amazing brands, and quality products, which makes the box that much more valuable. And…..if that isn’t enough, we always receive 5 products, with some of them being full-size. Basically, you can’t go wrong with Ipsy……it’s a winner. Let’s have a look at what I received in my August bag:

Ipsy Review August 2016 6
Makeup Bag

First up, can we talk about this makeup bag! How freakin’ adorable is this bag! I absolutely love the pale purple. It’s just so darn pretty. This will be put to use in my gym bag or my purse.

Ipsy Review August 2016 7
Ciate London Paint Pot in Spinning Teacups

This cult-fave nail polish is fit for a queen (we’re talking about you). Pumps you up. Adds volume to your nail beds. High-shine all the time. The tapered precision brush allows for easy and more controlled application.

This really is a cult-fave polish. I love this brand, they have some really cool colors and products. And this purple color is absolutely perfect for me. I am loving pale, matte finish polish right now, I can’t get enough of it.

Ipsy Review August 2016 8

The Organic Pharmacy Rose Facial Cleansing Gel

Everything’s coming up roses and we’re thrilled. Safe, gentle (and it smells so delightful), this cleansing gel just won a spot in our skincare routine. Aloe, rose hip, rose, and bilberry gently clean and condition skin. Gentle enough for all skin types. Refreshing and crisp finish, perfect for a morning pick-me-up. 

I don’t get too excited about facial cleansers as I never really end up using them. This one does sound pretty interesting though, thanks to the rose hip and aloe.

Peter Lamas Supreme Radiance Complexion Booster

Lightly-tinted and ultra sheer, this booster is the perfect brightening pick-me-up for your everyday look. Major bonus: it feels ah-maz-ing on your skin.

This is another one I’m not too excited about. But it is probably my fault. I haven’t updated my Ipsy profile in ages, and I should probably let then know that I’m not interested in face products.

Ipsy Review August 2016 9
Nomad Cosmetics Intense Eyeshadow in Spice Market

Enter the market of Marrakesh. Baked shadow in a rich copper shade that transports you. Blendable. Buildable. Now that’s the ticket. Intense color payoff, which means a little goes a long way. Super smooth application that lasts and lasts. Unexpected pop that draws attention where (and when) you want it. 

I am loving this bronze color. It’s really pretty and perfect for Fall. I use to wear a color similar to this and really loved the way it looked with my eye color and complexion. I don’t know why I ever stopped wearing it.

Ipsy Review August 2016 10
IT Cosmetics No-Tug Waterproof Mini Gel Eyeliner

We don’t want no tugs. This smooth formula glides on without damaging your delicate lids. And did we mention it’s waterproof? Line us up. Works its magic on the inner and outer rims of the lash line. Includes good-for-skin ingredients hydrolyzed collagen and silk proteins. Free of skin irritants (parabens, fragrances and sulphates).

I love a good eyeliner, and I love trying new brands. I’m not too crazy about the waterproof part, as I feel like it is too hard to remove, but I am loving the “no-tug” part. I also really like that it is free of skin irritants. I feel like we are receiving more and more beauty products that contain good for you products, and I love it.

Ipsy Review August 2016 4
Ipsy Review august 2016 – Final Thoughts

Hmmmm….it’s definitely not my favourite bag from Ipsy but I am really loving the polish. I went in and updated my beauty profile to indicate that face products are low on my priority list. Let’s see if that makes a difference going forward. Realistically, I will probably use 2 out of the 5 products this month, but that is ok, I know I’m not going to love every month, some are definitely going to be better than others. If we step back and look at the big picture, Ipsy is still pretty amazing. It’s one of the few beauty subscriptions that I will take the time to review every month.

XOXO

save

Ipsy

Each month, subscribers will receive a beautiful Glam Bag with deluxe samples and full-sized beauty products. Members can watch and play along with the stylists with the same products that they are using. All […]

Learn More about Ipsy »

Leave a Reply