Snakku Review May 2016

Snakku Review May 2016 – It’s time for some brutal honesty. I get sick of talking about Japanese snacks, plain and simple, and I know I am going to get in trouble for saying that, but it’s true. There’s only so much I can say about rice crackers, and match flavoured cookies. However, Snakku is a little easier to review, and a lot easier to talk about because it is done so well, and they include such a nice mixture of products each month. Not to mention the fact that they have a bit of a theme to each box…..and we all know how I feel about themes….

If you aren’t familiar with Snakku it is the ONLY Japanese snack subscription box that gets its snacks directly from local snack makers in Japan. They work directly with the Japanese snack makers, some of whom have been around for 100+ years! This box was provided complimentary for review.

Snakku Review May 2016 - 1 Snakku Review May 2016 - 2

The Box: Snakku

Cost: $38.95

What You Get: You can expect about 10-13 tasty snacks in every box! Also every order automatically enters you into our monthly Deluxe Box giveaway which has over $100 of premium Japanese snacks.

Ships to: US

Shipping Cost: FREE

Snakku Review May 2016 - 3 Snakku Review May 2016 - 4

This month’s Snakku box features items from Sendai which is a beautiful coastal city in northeastern Japan. Sendai is famous for food that is made with Zunda which is crushed edamame paste, so I am assuming a lot of the products featured in this month’s box will be made with Zunda……let’s have a look!

Snakku Review May 2016 - 7

Ko-Ume Candy – Slightly sour candy made with Japanese ume plum.

Snakku Review May 2016 - 8

Shiogama – The outer layer is made with a mixture of finely milled rice, and the inside is filled with red bean paste.

Snakku Review May 2016 - 9

Zunda Bamboo Dango – Mini Japanese sweet rice cake filled with red bean paste.

Snakku Review May 2016 - 10

Kani Crab Chips – Airy wheat chips made with Japanese crab.

Snakku Review May 2016 - 11

Sendai Zunda Tart Cookie – A light butter cookie topped with a tart mixture of Zunda and almond glaze.

Zunda Manju – Soft thin-skinned rice cake filled with a slightly sweet Zunda filling.

Snakku Review May 2016 - 12

Zunda Chiffon Cake – Soft Zunda-flavoured wheat cake filled with creamy custard.

Snakku Review May 2016 - 13

Matcha Azuki Cake – Fluffy matcha green tea cake sandwich filled with Azuki red bean cream.

Snakku Review May 2016 - 14

Cheese Kibun Senbai – Thin rice crackers baked with Japanese cheddar cheese.

Zarajiman – Senbai rice crackers covered with large Japanese sugar crystals.

Snakku Review May 2016 - 5

Thoughts: First of all, let me just say that I LOVE rice crackers. I ate the Cheese Kibun Senbai right away, despite the fact that they aren’t vegan friendly. I then ate the Zarajiman and loved them just as much as the Senbai. I have said this before, but I would be happy if the box contained rice crackers and nothing but rice crackers. As for the rest of the items, I didn’t try them all, but I loved the Zunda theme. Snakku always does a great job, and they always manage to make the box look classy. This would definitely be one of the better Japanese snack subscription boxes on the market.

What do you think of Snakku?

XOXO

Leave a Reply