Bakers Krate Review July 2016

Bakers Krate Review July 2016

Bakers Krate Review July 2016 – So…….I just did my June Bakers Krate review and I am already back with another one. I received my June and July boxes at the same time. Can we say happy mail! It’s a good day when you find two boxes full of baked goods on your doorstep. Bakers Krate kind of put their shipments on hold during the whole Canada Post lockout scare thing, and are just now getting caught up.

Bakers Krate July 2016 1
Bakers Krate Details

If you aren’t familiar with Bakers Krate it is a monthly subscription box that features hand crafted baked goods produced by Canadian dessert experts. This box was provided complimentary for review and may include affiliate links.

Bakers Krate July 2016 2

The Box: Bakers Krate

Cost: $19.99

What You Get: Each Bakers Krate contains 6 or more items in each box. Every item is a surprise.

Ships to: Canada

Shipping Cost: $9.99

Coupon Code: Use code “YEAROFBOXES” to get 15% off your first box – CLICK HERE

Bakers Krate July 2016 3 Bakers Krate July 2016 5
July Details

At first glance, it appears as though this month’s box has a bit of a theme going on. I quickly looked over the product card and see words like matcha, taro, green tea, etc. Anytime a box has a theme it’s always more fun to go through. Not that this box needs to up the fun factor. It’s already pretty fun as it is. Cookies and squares and chocolate………..fun in a box!

Bakers Krate July 2016 10
Taro Cookie Sandwich – Pinky’s Bakeshop

A desert with an Asian twist! Two vanilla Taro cookies sandwiched with Taro butter cream in between!

I kind of knew what this purple cookie was when I pulled it out of the box. I’ve received similar items in some of my Japanese snack boxes. But, this treat definitely tastes better than any of the ones I’ve received before…….much better.

Bakers Krate July 2016 9
Green Tea Brownie – Pinky’s Bakeshop

Tender and refreshing. A delicious brownie square with a refreshing green tea flavour, and chocolate chips baked in. 

I love green tea flavoured treats but they aren’t always as good as they should be. The tea-to-sweetness ratio needs to be perfect or the tea flavour overwhelms everything else. Luckily these little squares have the right amount of green tea. They are better than I thought they would be. I shouldn’t eat them but I tried a little bite because I was so curious.

Bakers Krate July 2016 12
Matcha Oreo Bites – Roll Cake Bakery

Matcha Bites with a classic Oreo taste! Little bite sized squares topped with Oreo and Almond bits. 

I was most excited about these. They just look so darn cute, and what a fun idea! Sadly, they ended up being my least favourite in the box. The matcha chocolate is really, really, really sweet. It’s a little too overpowering.

Bakers Krate July 2016 11
Apricot Amaretto Chew – High Tea Bakery

A latte’s best friend! A tender chewy apricot cookie that is best enjoyed with a hot beverage.

This was moist, and had really nice flavour. I had a little tiny nibble and ended up liking it a lot. I can see how this would be really good with a cup of Earl Grey tea.

Bakers Krate July 2016 7
Bakers Krate Review July 2016 – Final Thoughts

This month’s Bakers Krate definitely has a different feel than all the other boxes I have received, thanks to all the tea flavoured treats. I like a box with a good theme, and would love to see more like this in the future. This subscription box definitely tempts me, and really makes me wish I wasn’t vegan. Maybe they could get a Vegan Bakery to sponsor a box…….lol, or maybe not. That would probably piss off the rest of their subscribers. But it would be really nice for little ol’ me:)

XOXO

Bakers Krate

Canada’s Favourite Dessert Box! Sending Bakery Fresh Sweets, Straight to your door! Locally sourced, freshly baked desserts.

Ships to:
Learn More about Bakers Krate »

Leave a Reply