Book of the Month Review July 2016

Book of the Month Review July 2016

Book of the Month Review July 2016 – You guys, I am so excited today, you don’t even know. I LOVE reading. I always have. I was one of those kids who would rather sit in her room and read than hang out with friends (most of the time). However, life has been a little hectic lately and I’ve had zero time to get to the book store and pick out new reads. So imagine my excitement when I received this little gem in the mail. I’ve had my eye on Book of the Month Club for quite some time, and am SO EXCITED to be reviewing it today.

Book of the Month Review July 2016 1
Book of the Month Details

If you aren’t familiar with Book of the Month it is  a monthly book subscription box. Every month they release 5 new books which have been selected by their panel of Judges. Books are announced on the first of the month, and members have six days to decide which book they would like to receive. Monthly subscriptions include one book, but members can purchase up to two additional books each month for $9.99 per title.

The Box: Book of the Month

Cost: $16.99 per month (only $11.99 per month on the 12-month plan)

What You Get: 1 new book every 30 days

Ships to: US

Shipping Cost: FREE

Coupon Code: Use the code FUN30 to save 30% on a 3-month subscription – CLICK HERE

Book of the Month Review July 2016 2
Subscription Details

When you sign up for a monthly subscription you are asked a couple of questions – what kind of books would you like to read more of, and how many books do you read in a month. New book selections are announced on the first of the month, and you have six days to decide which book (or books) you would like to receive. If you don’t choose a book they will automatically send one to you. You can also skip a month anytime.

Books ship after the 6th day of each month and they ship books to all of their members at the same time, so members can read and participate in their discussion forum as a group. One book per month is included in the membership fee, and members can purchase up to two additional books each month for $9.99 per title.

Book of the Month Review July 2016 5
RICH & PRETTY BY RUMAAN ALAM

For my very first Book of the Month review I was sent Rich & Pretty by Rumaan Alam. I’m one of those people who judges a book by the cover, and I was immediately intrigued by the name of the book and the illustration on the front – so far so good. Before we talk about the book, lets look at the other goodies that came with it.

I should point out that the books are shrink wrapped onto cardboard, but I was a little excited when I opened the box and ripped off the shrink wrap before I had the chance to take a photo – oops.

Book of the Month Review July 2016 8
Judge’s Letter & Book Mark

We received a note from the judge – Author Cynthia Sweeney. She tells us a bit about the book and why she selected it.

We also received a book mark, which I appreciate very much. It has a quote on it – “Good books, like good friends, are few and chosen: the more select, the more enjoyable.”

Book of the Month Review July 2016 7
Crazy Straw

We also received a crazy straw and a little note telling us to kick back, grab our favorite summer drink, and post a photo with the crazy straw and our book on Instagram. Don’t forget to tag @bookofthemonthclub and use #bookofthemonth. Members with the best photo will win three months free!

Book of the Month Review July 2016 6
From the Back Cover

Sarah and Lauren met twenty years ago at a tony Manhattan private school and have been inseparable ever since—best friends throughout high school and college, first jobs and first loves, the uncertainties of their twenties and the realities of their thirties.

Now, Sarah, the only child of a prominent intellectual and a socialite, works at a charity and is methodically planning her wedding, while Lauren—beautiful, independent, unpredictable—is single and working in publishing, deflecting her parents’ worries and questions about her future by trying not to think about it herself. Each woman envies—and is horrified by—particular aspects of the other’s life, topics of conversation they avoid with masterful linguistic pirouettes.

Once, Sarah and Lauren had been inseparable; for a long time now, they’ve been apart. Can two women who rarely see each other, only share secrets selectively, and lead vastly different lives still call themselves best friends? Is it their abiding connection—or just force of habit—that keeps them together?

With impeccable style, biting humor, and a keen sense of detail, this irresistible debut deftly explores how the attachments we form in childhood shift as we adapt to our adult lives—and how the bonds of friendship endure, even when our paths diverge. Rumaan Alam provides a sharp, insightful look into how the relationship between two best friends changes when they are no longer coming of age but learning how to live adult lives.

Book of the Month Review July 2016 3
Book of the Month Review July 2016 – Final Details

I’m not even sure if I can put in to words how excited I am about this subscription box. There’s something about a new book that makes me happy. I LOVE the idea of curling up with a cozy blanket, cup of hot tea, and a good book.

In regards to the book itself, it definitely sounds like something I will enjoy. I like the idea behind it, the story of a female friendship, and will definitely be able to relate to it. The book received great reviews, but I have read a couple that also talk about the writing style or lack thereof. Regardless, I can’t wait to start reading it.

I LOVE this subscription, and think the price point is extremely reasonable. Especially if you opt for the 12-month subscription plan. A new book every month? Yes please! Stay tuned because I also received the rest of the July titles and will do a separate review for those. Eeek! I love it!

XOXO

Book of the Month

Our goal is simple: making sure you love what you read. For us, there’s no greater joy than discovering a new book we can get totally lost in—and we want […]

Ships to:
Get Your First Month FREE!! Learn More about Book of the Month »

Explore.

Save.

Enjoy!

Sign up for a free account on A Year of Boxes to receive exclusive offers, be added to our monthly mailing list, and much more! We are always adding features to improve the experience for our users, from their valuable feedback!
Join Today!

Sorry, only registered users are able to leave comments! Please register to A Year of Boxes to leave comments!