Caring Crate Review June 2016

Caring Crate Review June 2016 – I’ve got another new subscription box for you today, and this one is all about self-care. I am absolutely loving the variety of subscription boxes on the market right now. There is literally a box for anything, and everything. This one was started when the founder discovered that no one else in the subscription box market was focusing on health issues……..good thinking on her part, find something that isn’t available and make it available.

If you aren’t familiar with Caring Crate it is a unique, monthly subscription box service for those dealing with mental health issues, chronic illnesses – or anyone who needs a little extra self-care. From mood enhancing aromatherapy and teas, to personal journals and healthy snacks, Caring Crate is the perfect solution to indulging in a little self-care, or gifting a thoughtfully curated box to friends, family & loved ones.

Caring Crate Review June 2016 - 1 Caring Crate Review June 2016 - 2

The Box: Caring Crate

Cost: $39.95

What You Get: Each box is a surprise, so they have to keep the full details on the down-low 😉 But they can tell you that each subscription box you receive on your doorstep each month will contain 4-5 full-sized products related to health and wellness. Their boxes are carefully curated with thoughtful product selections and lovingly assembled for you.

Ships to: US & Canada

Shipping Cost: $12.99

Caring Crate Review June 2016 - 3

To be totally honest, I wasn’t really sure what to expect with Caring Crate. I knew that it was a box geared towards people with mental health issues, and/or chronic illnesses, but what does that mean exactly? The name of the box makes me think it will be a fun little package of self-care goodies, and I am wondering if they will also be good for those of us who don’t have health issues, but still need to focus on self-care and being good to our bodies? Let’s have a look at the items and decide from there….

Caring Crate Review June 2016 - 7

Potting Shed Creations Garden-in-a-Bag (Lavender) – “The leaves are intensely aromatic right from the start and said to have a relaxing effect. The flowers are edible and can be used raw in salads, added to stews, used to season cookies, ice cream, candied or even brewed in tea. Lavender pairs especially well with dark chocolate.”

Ummm…..can I just say that I now love lavender even more than I did before? I had no clue you could eat the flowers, and that it pairs well with chocolate. I think I need to get this little plant growing so I can make some lavender tea, eat some chocolate and watch Netflix…..and never leave my house again. And the fact that it provides a relaxing effect makes it perfect for a self-care box.

Caring Crate Review June 2016 - 9

Mindful Mandala Cards – “The perfect portable coloring kit that allows you to de-stress and re-charge, wherever you are! For centuries mandalas have been used as tools for reflection, and a way to center oneself in a chaotic world. They allow us to relax, de-stress and balance ourselves. Mindful Mandala Cards are less intimidating and time-consuming than large format adult coloring books. Tuck them in a purse or backpack. Keep a set in your car.”

I absolutely love colouring, and I knew that it was a good way to de-stress, but the whole mandala thing is new to me. I decided to do a little more research and found out that “it is a generic term for any diagram, chart or geometric pattern that represents the cosmos metaphysically or symbolically”. I love that these cards are travel friendly; they fit nicely in a purse as opposed to a full-size colouring book. I also think they will be easier to fit into my hectic lifestyle, as I don’t have to commit myself to a whole page of colouring……in other words, they are do-able.

Caring Crate Review June 2016 - 6

Scratch & Grain Coffee Cake & Muffin Kit – “Our kits have individually packaged and labeled ingredients, replicating homemade baking at its finest! It also allows you to make any changes you want, making this recipe YOURS!”

I’ve said it many times before, but baking is my stress reliever, it always has been, ever since I can remember. It takes me to my happy place, so it makes perfect sense to include a baking kit in a self-care box. I was also really happy to see that box gives us instructions for making it vegan.

Caring Crate Review June 2016 - 10

Fable Naturals Lemon & Lavender Organic Body Balm – “Our everything balm. This Lemon + Lavender body balm moisturizes and protects from head to toe. Rub a little on your hands, feet and dry patches for long lasting moisture. Use it for parched lips, dry elbows, chapped hands, flyaway hair, cracked heels…and so much more.”

Well isn’t this a fun little multi-tasker! First of all, I love the scent combination, and second of all, I love that it can be used on body, lips and hair. I like to keep products like this beside my bed. I apply it to my feet at night and sleep with a pair of socks on……waking up to super soft feet is a good way to start the day.

Caring Crate Review June 2016 - 8

Pluck Teas – We received 2 different tea samples in the box, and seeing as I drink tea almost everyday I was really happy they decided to include some:

Spa Day – A refreshing, relaxing, caffeine-free organic infusion. Peppermint, hibiscus, chamomile, and rose notes intertwine. A symphony of flavours with a clean finish.

After dinner Mint – Named in honour of our founder’s favourite apres-dinner treat, After Dinner Mint is a decadent, caffeine-free chocolate mint rooibos blend featuring roasted cacao nibs from Toronto based Chocosol.

Caring Crate Review June 2016 - 5

Thoughts: What a nice box! I think they have done a really good job of putting together a self-care subscription. I was worried that it would be too focused on health issues that it wouldn’t really apply to the masses, but they have put it together in a way that makes it perfect for anyone needing a little self-love in their life. I also have to say what a nice mixture of products they have included. I will be using all of them (no gifting) and that doesn’t happen too often. I am looking forward to seeing more from Caring Crate.

XOXO

Caring Crate

A subscription box especially designed for those living with mental health issues, chronic illness – or anyone who needs a little extra care!

Ships to:
Learn More about Caring Crate »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *