Gentleman’s Box Review June 2016

Gentleman’s Box Review June 2016

Gentleman’s Box Review June 2016 – I have been reviewing Gentleman’s Box for over a year now, actually I think it is more like a year and a half, and it continues to impress me. They are consistent, and straight forward. There’s not a lot of hoopla around this box, and by that I mean price changes, different boxes, restructuring, etc. The only thing that has changed since I started reviewing them in November of 2014 is the fact that they no longer include the GQ magazine in the box, it ships separately.

Gentleman's Box Review June 2016 1 Gentleman's Box Review June 2016 2
Gentleman’s Box Details

If you aren’t familiar with Gentleman’s Box it is the first subscription box that caters to the modern gentleman. Each month honors a noteworthy gentleman from the past or present. Items in their subscription box for men are hand selected to reflect the carefully crafted image of that month’s honored gentleman. Four to five products, including a subscription to GQ magazine, arrive at your doorstep monthly. This box was provided complimentary for review and may include affiliate links.

The Box: Gentleman’s Box

Cost: $25 per month

What You Get: Each month honors a noteworthy gentleman from the past or present. Items in our subscription box for men are hand selected to reflect the carefully crafted image of that month’s honored gentleman. Four to five products, alongside the latest issue of GQ, arrive at your doorstep monthly.

Ships to: US & Canada

Shipping Cost: FREE to US & $8 to Canada

Gentleman's Box Review June 2016 3 Gentleman's Box Review June 2016 4

 

Shipping Details

Gentleman’s Box ships in a pretty cool, woodgrain inspired, logo’d box. They actually have one of my favourites shipping boxes on the market. Inside you will find The Gentleman’s Post which is their monthly product card/information booklet. On the front of the card they tell us who they are honouring for the month, and for June it is “Our Favourite Father Figures”.

Gentleman's Box Review June 2016 7
Sock Fancy Socks – $12

Sock Fancy believes that every foot should be put in the spotlight and deserves to have some comfortable, well-designed socks to wear. They are constructed on a 200 needle count machine from quality combed cottons. 

I am digging these socks! The material is thick, and they feel like they would be very comfortable. And have I ever mentioned the fact that I LOVE it when socks and ties match, but don’t really match?

Gentleman's Box Review June 2016 8
Something Strong Striped Tie – $30

Something Strong is a men’s clothing line that doesn’t take itself too seriously. This month they went away from their normal line of accessories to produce a 100% cotton tie exclusive for Gentleman’s Box members. 

There’s just something about this tie that I love. I think it must be the color. Green is just a great color, something about it makes me happy. I am doing a horrible job of explaining why I like this tie, let’s just say it is understated, yet fun, I love it.

Gentleman's Box Review June 2016 10
Harry’s Razor (+ 4 replacement blades) – $18

Harry’s doesn’t want to see a savy gentleman like yourself be suckered into over paying for razors that don’t quite make the cut. They slice the cost of their razors to half the cost of competitor blades, all without compromising the quality of the blades. 

Not only did we receive a great razor, but we also received a coupon code for a set of four blades. Every guy needs a razor, so this is a very “practical” item, and it adds value to the box, if you ask me.

Gentleman's Box Review June 2016 9
Woodchuck USA Tie Clip – $30

This month we feature a wood tie clip made with a real walnut face, and a stainless steel body. This clip is perfect for the upcoming summer months. It will add a touch of earthy interest without being overly formal. 

The BF is officially wearing tie clips now, and that makes me very happy. He’ still pretty new to the whole tie accessory trend, so we need to start him out small. Luckily this one has a bit of a outdoorsman feel to it. I know he is going to love the wood face. I also like the length. He and I both agree that tie clips should be longer rather than shorter.

Gentleman's Box Review June 2016 11
La Fresh Sunscreen Wipes

Just in time for summer, La Fresh provides you with travel-size sunscreen wipes! These wipes are SPF 30 and are guaranteed to protect you in the sun for hours. They are an all natural product which means they aren’t greasy and won’t irritate. 

I’ve received this brand many times before but not this product in particular. I love sunscreen, but hate applying it. I wonder if wipes will be easier and more convenient? My guess is yes.

Gentleman's Box Review June 2016 6
Gentleman’s Box Review June 2016 – Final Thoughts

I would consider this month’s Gentleman’s Box a “standard” box. I say this because it includes all of their typical GB items – tie, socks, suit accessory, and grooming product. Normally I prefer the not so typical boxes; the ones that includes things like sunglasses, watches, etc. But, I just might have to go against what I usually prefer and say that I like this box more than most of the others I have received. Yes, it is a “standard” box, and there’s not any of the one-off items I love so much, but it’s done very well. In addition, the BF will use/wear every item in the box, and normally he could care less about the stuff I get in my subscription boxes.

XOXO

Gentleman’s Box

Gentleman’s Box is a premier subscription box designed for the modern man. Each month’s unique theme provides products that are sure to impress.

Use code AYOB for $5 off your first month! Learn More about Gentleman’s Box »

Leave a Reply