GlobeIn Artisan Box Review June 2016

GlobeIn Artisan Box Review June 2016 – Month after month I fall in love with GlobeIn all over again. You all know this is one of my favourite subscription boxes, but I think it’s time for me to review the reasons why I love it so much. I classify GlobeIn as a “Handmade Subscription Box” as it contains handmade items from global artisans. To be totally honest, I never thought I would love a box like this, simply because it doesn’t contain all the fun commercialized, girly, pretty items some of my lifestyle boxes include. Fast forward a few months (my first review was back in February of last year – CLICK HERE) and it has surpassed said lifestyle boxes on my top 10 favourite subscription boxes list.

If you aren’t familiar with The GlobeIn Artisan Box it is a monthly subscription box featuring favorite products from global artisans. Each box is curated around a monthly theme selected by the editor with the aim of helping you experience new and interesting products and cultures. This box was provided complimentary for review and may include affiliate links.

GlobeIn Artisan Box Review June 2016 - 1 GlobeIn Artisan Box Review June 2016 - 2

The Box: GlobeIn Artisan Box

Cost: $40 per month

What You Get: Each month, we assemble a themed collection of artisan-made products from around the world and deliver it to you.

Ships to: Worldwide

Shipping Cost: FREE to US, $12 to Canada, $15 International

GlobeIn Artisan Box Review June 2016 - 3

Each GlobeIn box has its own theme, and each month they seem to get better and better. Last month’s box had a Hydrate theme, the box before that had Spring Clean theme, and so on, and so on. I don’t know why I love themed boxes so much, but I do. I think it might be the fact that a theme creates an “experience” and that’s what I look for in my subscription boxes.

This month’s GlobeIn theme is Picnic, which is very fitting for the month of June. The product card says that they invite us to take our victuals out to the yard, the park, or some special spot and hike away. The items found in this months box will ensure that our dining al fresco is easy, fancy and fun. Now do you see what I mean about themes? They make the unboxing process ten times more fun, and when you unbox anywhere from 2-5 boxes a day, you definitely look forward to the ones that stand out……GlobeIn does just that!

GlobeIn Artisan Box Review June 2016 - 6

Peace Picnic Blanket (Cambodia) – When putting together a picnic themed box, a picnic blanket is definitely the first thing on the list. This one is made of heavy-duty upcycled bags and I love it. This means you can lay it on the ground and not worry about getting it dirty as it appears you could just wipe the one side clean. I love the plaid material on the opposing side as it gives it a very picnic-y feel. The suggested use for this one  says – choose a special place and roll it on out.

Could you not also use this as a beach blanket?

GlobeIn Artisan Box Review June 2016 - 9

Neem Wood Travel Cutting Board (India) – This hand-carved board was made in India by a family who is now employing 24 artisans, can we say amazing? I have 3 wood cutting boards and use them all the time. I’m really happy to add another one to the collection because they are perfect, not only for cutting, but also for serving, displaying, etc. You will notice that I use them in my recipe photos all the time. The “suggested use” for this one is as a cheese board, for making sandwiches, or placing fruit on.

GlobeIn Artisan Box Review June 2016 - 8

Conor Travel Cup (India) – These are made by a group of stainless steel artisans and it appears that they are hand painted. We received a glass tumbler in our lat box, which was equally as beautiful, so much so that I mentioned I almost didn’t want to use it. But thanks to the suggestion of one of my wonderful readers, I realized that I could use it as a storage container for makeup brushes, pens, etc.

GlobeIn Artisan Box Review June 2016 - 7

Basket Substitute: Palm Leaf Bottle Basket (Mexico) – Did you all read last month’s review? If so, you would have noticed that I didn’t receive a palm leaf basket, and that I mentioned that I really wish I had. Well, I discovered that the cute little bottle topper I received last month was a substitute item for the basket. GlobeIn has started offering substitute items for the basket as some subscribers feel they have received too many. I on the other hand LOVE the palm leaf baskets and am totally ok with receiving one every month. I use them for a number of different things – storage, receipts, gift bags, etc.

This month I received the bottle basket as a substitute, and as much as I love the regular basket, this one is just as amazing. You all know I love my wine, and a bottle happens to fit perfectly in this substitute basket. Can I have 5 more of these please??

GlobeIn Artisan Box Review June 2016 - 4

Thoughts: Can I just say how much I ADORE this subscription box? Once again they nailed the theme, and the items are amazing. I usually end up liking this box more than my lifestyle boxes, and that says a lot because I LOVE my lifestyle boxes.

Still not sure about this box? Check this out:

“We are dedicated to supporting artisans from around the world and in developing countries where, after agriculture, artisan goods are the second largest source of employment. By supporting us, you help reduce poverty by giving these artisans and their communities, a global audience.”

I love that there is meaning behind this box, and that it’s not just a bunch of “stuff”. It always puts a smile on my face, and not just because I love the products we receive.

What do you think of GlobeIn?

XOXO

GlobeIn Artisan Box

The Artisan Box offers a themed collection of 4-5 hand-crafted items, including our signature palm leaf hand-woven basket from Oaxaca, Mexico. Each item comes along with a printed story about […]

Use code WELCOME to get $10 OFF with a 3-month subscription! Learn More about GlobeIn Artisan Box »

Explore.

Save.

Enjoy!

Sign up for a free account on A Year of Boxes to receive exclusive offers, be added to our monthly mailing list, and much more! We are always adding features to improve the experience for our users, from their valuable feedback!
Join Today!

Sorry, only registered users are able to leave comments! Please register to A Year of Boxes to leave comments!