RawSpiceBar Review May 2016

RawSpiceBar Review May 2016 – This has become one of the subscription boxes I look forward to the most, but I’ve told you that already. Who knew a simple little envelope filled with spices would get me so excited. It’s the little things in life, or so I’m told…..

If you aren’t familiar with RawSpiceBar it is a subscription box that sends you global, authentic spice blends created by top chefs to your door every month. This box was provided complimentary for review and may include affiliate links.

RawSpiceBar May 2016 - 2

The Box: RawSpiceBar

Cost: $6 per month

What You get: A spice subscription that delivers 3-4 premium spice blends from around the world direct to your door. Each spice box averages 2 oz of spice blends and yields a complete 3 dish meal for 8-12 people.

Ships to: US & Canada

Shipping Cost: FREE to US & $4 to Canada

RawSpiceBar May 2016 - 3

Did you catch last month’s RawSpiceBar review? If not, you should check it out, and you should also check out some of the recipes I made using the Garam Masala. I am officially obsessed with the Vegan Mac & Cheese I made which incorporated the wonderful little spice blend. I swear it is the best recipe I’ve made thus far……even better than the Green Curry I made, and that was pretty darn good! This month they are featuring spices from Cambodia, and I am kind of familiar with some of them already……..

RawSpiceBar May 2016 - 6 Screenshot 2016-06-01 11.00.50

Sambal Oelek – This spicy hot blend of ground chiles is used all over Indonesia and Malaysia both as a condiment and to form the base of curry and rice dishes. The recipe they included for this one is Sambal Oelek Paste, but I am going to make Spice Ramen with Tofu for myself, and Slow Cooker Lo Mein for the meat eating BF – RECIPES HERE.

RawSpiceBar May 2016 - 5 Screenshot 2016-06-01 11.13.15

Kaffir Lime Powder – Sprinkle this kaffir lime blend on ice cream, roasted nuts, as a salad dressing base or on top of a bowl of noodles or curry for a final citrusy burst. Or make the monthly recipe – Mini Kaffir Lime Tarts. I am going to make Slow Cooker Quinoa, Chicken and Butternut Squash Soup, or Instant Kiwi Coconut Sorbet infused with Lime & Lemongrass.

RawSpiceBar May 2016 - 4 Screenshot 2016-06-01 11.13.21

Kroeung Spices – This particular spice blend is subtly flavored and perfect for creating a paste for a yellow curry. The recipe included for this spice is Fish Amok, but it doesn’t sound to appealing, so I will have to find something else to make. Nothing has turned up on Pinterest as of yet so I am open to ideas.

Thoughts: I’ve had a few people ask me about RawSpiceBar as of late. It appears as though this little spice subscription is becoming quite popular, and for good reason. It’s inexpensive, simple, and straight forward. It provides you with new recipes each month, and gets you out of your cooking comfort zone. I always have a lot of fun with this subscription. I don’t always try the recipes they include in the package, but that’s only because I’m vegan and “high maintenance”. Maybe they will start doing monthly packages tailored to us crazy veggie eaters…………but then again we probably only represent 1% of their subscriber list.

What do you think of RawSpiceBar?

XOXO

RawSpiceBar

Fresh, recipe-ready flavor kits, delivered monthly. Cook global dishes, without the salt & sugar. Custom recipes for diets of all types.

Learn More about RawSpiceBar »

Explore.

Save.

Enjoy!

Sign up for a free account on A Year of Boxes to receive exclusive offers, be added to our monthly mailing list, and much more! We are always adding features to improve the experience for our users, from their valuable feedback!
Join Today!

Sorry, only registered users are able to leave comments! Please register to A Year of Boxes to leave comments!