YumiBox Review June 2016

YumiBox Review June 2016

YumiBox Review June 2016 – Yay! I get to review another new subscription box! There’s been a lot of them lately, and that makes me pretty happy. Normally with a new subscription box, one of two things happens. I know about it going in to the unboxing, have read other reviews, and know what to expect…..or, I know nothing about it, haven’t seen any other reviews and have no clue what to expect. Something different happened with today’s review. I had an idea of what I thought the box was, and after opening it, found out that what I thought wasn’t totally accurate. This isn’t a bad thing though, it just means I had to re-group and do some research.

If you aren’t familiar with YumiBox it was created to bring back whole grains and to inspire healthy carbohydrate choices for overall health, as well as blood sugar management.

Yumi Box Review June 2016 1

The Box: YumiBox

Cost: $29.99 per month

What You Get: Every month we will send you a box containing a bag of savory whole grain mix, a bag of breakfast oatmeal mix, a few healthy snacks, recipe cards to pair with the grain mix, and some reading materials that we think you might be interested.

Ships to: Canada

Shipping Cost: FREE

Yumi Box Review June 2016 2
Shipping Details

My first YumiBox arrived in a nice white logo’d box. Inside, the items were packaged nicely, and with them was a product card. They also included an information sheet on lentils. When I first discovered this box I kind of thought it was geared towards people with diabetes (which it kind of is) but it could also be considered a healthy eating subscription box. They want to teach people about healthy carbohydrate choices, and how to incorporate them into your diet.

Yumi Box Review June 2016 6
Low Sugar breakfast Oats – Oh Berry Berri

This colourful oatmeal mix with classic berry combination delivers the perfect mix of sweet and fruity flavours blended with a soothing oatmeal base. With a hint of wild flowers, start your morning with a smile. 

I recently re-discovered my love for oatmeal. There’s just something so comforting about a hot bowl of oats in the morning, with a cup of coffee, and something sweet drizzled on top. It makes me happy and it’s the perfect way to start the day. This bag contains 8 individually portioned packages inside. You simply add 1/2 – 2/3 cups of water per packet and microwave for 1.5 – 2 minutes.

Yumi Box Review June 2016 5
Complex Grains Mix – Mexi Taco Mix

This taco seasoned grains mix features jalapeño peppers that tingle your tongue to give you a taste of the tropics. 

Just like the oatmeal, this bag also contains 8 individually portioned packets. You add 1 cup of water per packet, bring to a boil, then simmer for 20-30 minutes. I didn’t receive any recipes to go along with this one, but I think it would be good topped with tomatoes, peppers and avocado.

Yumi Box Review June 2016 7
Manitoba Harvest Hemp Hearts

I love these things! I use them a number of different ways. I add them to my smoothies, sprinkle on salads, on my oatmeal, cereal, soup, etc. The possibilities are endless. Each serving (3 tbs) has 170 calories, 10 grams of protein, and 1 gram of sugar.

Yumi Box Review June 2016 8
Qi’a Superfood Bars – Blueberry Cashew Pumpkin Seed

I just LOVE healthy snack bars. They really are the best invention. They make a convenient snack, they are really good with a cup of coffee in the morning (as is everything), and I can keep them in my purse. These ones fit with the “low sugar” theme, as they only have 7 grams per bar.

Kind Bar – Caramel Almond & Sea Salt

I have a new appreciation for these bars. I already knew they were good, but I didn’t know they were so low in sugar. I can’t believe I haven’t paid attention to that in the past. I have received these many times but am just now realizing that they only have 5 grams of sugar per bar. I don’t know if this goes for all of their flavours, but I sure hope it does.

Yumi Box Review June 2016 4
YumiBox Review June 2016 – Final Thoughts

Now that I have wrapped my head around this box and realized exactly what it is (I was expecting something a little different) I can make a final judgement on it. I originally thought it was geared towards people with diabetes, when in fact it is geared towards anyone wanting to live a healthy lifestyle and incorporate healthy carbs into their diet. I love the idea behind the box, and love that the grains are individually portioned. This makes it way more convenient, in my books, and easier for those of us who often have to cook for one. I think I was supposed to receive some recipe cards (according to the FAQ on the website) and feel that those would have rounded out the box nicely. I still want to learn a little more about this box, but will definitely keep an eye on it.

XOXO

Explore.

Save.

Enjoy!

Sign up for a free account on A Year of Boxes to receive exclusive offers, be added to our monthly mailing list, and much more! We are always adding features to improve the experience for our users, from their valuable feedback!
Join Today!

Sorry, only registered users are able to leave comments! Please register to A Year of Boxes to leave comments!