Scent Trunk Review August 2016

Scent Trunk Review August 2016

Scent Trunk Review August 2016 – Fragrance subscription boxes are few and far between. I personally only review two of them, with Scent Trunk being one of those. I happen to think fragrance subscriptions are a great idea because I don’t have the time or energy to go pick out my own perfume……is that lazy of me? Anyways, Scent Trunk is a great option for those of you wanting to discover new scents, but make sure you are active on your account page…..leave as much feedback as you can so they can better customize your monthly scents.

Scent Trunk Review August 2016 2
Scent Trunk Details

If you aren’t familiar with Scent Trunk it is a tailored fragrance subscription to help men and women find their perfect scents without spending hours in department stores. This box was provided complimentary for review and may include affiliate links.

The Box: Scent Trunk

Cost: $18 per month

What You Get: Scent Trunk sends three miniature fragrances monthly or 4 miniature fragrances each season

Ships to: US & Canada

Shipping Cost: FREE

Scent Trunk Review August 2016 3
Subscription Update

If you have been following my Scent Trunk reviews you will know that I’ve been having some trouble with my selections. But…..it is 100% my fault because I always forget to update my scent profile. Seriously, I need to get my crap together. things have just been so darn busy lately. But really, that’s no excuse.

Screenshot 2016-08-07 08.19.05

Here’s a screenshot from my account page. You can see at the top that I have indicated the notes I like – fruity, sweet, vanilla, etc. Under that is a list of all the scents I have received thus far. All you have to do is click on the “click to rate” text, give it 1-5 stars, and leave a little comment about it. As you can see, Coconut Sugar has been my favourite, I really want to receive more scents like that one.

Scent Trunk Review August 2016 4
Perfect Vanilla by Sarah Horowitz Parfums

Perfect Vanilla is a sumptuous, mouthwatering celebration of one of the fragrance realm’s best-known aphrodisiacs. A rich and textured collection of five vanillas from around the world made decadently inviting by hints of amber and blood orange, its evolution on the skin is at once familiar and mysterious. Perfect Vanilla was launched in 1998.

Yes! This is what I have been waiting for. I love any fragrance that contains vanilla, and this one is pretty much all vanilla. The middle note is Amber, which I can definitely smell. But the vanilla definitely takes over.

Scent Trunk Review August 2016 6
Scarlet Larkspur by Ineke

Scarlet Larkspur (Delphinium cardinale) Floral Oriental The scent deepens with notes of claret wine, nutmeg, saffron, amyris wood, tonka bean and bourbon vanilla after a bright fruity opening consisting of blood orange, red currant and morello cherry.

I can definitely see why they sent me this fragrance. The description talks about fruit and vanilla, which are two of my favourites. However, I find that they floral notes kind of take over. I don’t dislike it though. It’s definitely a lot better than most of the scents I have received in the past.

Scent Trunk Review August 2016 5
Omega by Mendittorosa

Omega is baroque, Boudoir. A woman with her lips pressed together, in just a blink she transforms into a man. Covered in smoke, it is like a glass of red wine and smells like cipria face powder. Its mystery is nutmeg. Omega was launched in 2012. Omega was created by Amelie Bourgeois and Anne-Sophie Behaghel.

I was not expecting to like this scent at all but I actually kind of do. The top note is cumin, which sounds really weird, and the middles notes are iris and leather. I’m not sure why I like this one, maybe the base note of vanilla mixes with the top and middle notes in a way that minimizes the floral scent.

Scent Trunk Review August 2016 7
Scent Trunk Review August 2016

Well……this is definitely my favourite Scent Trunk to date. I wasn’t expecting to like it as much as I do. They definitely took my preferences into account when they put this month’s box together, and that makes me very happy. I have always liked the idea of this subscription, but wasn’t really having any luck with the fragrance selections until now. I am going to spend some time rating my fragrances today, and am already looking forward to next month’s box. My confidence in Scent Trunk has been restored.

XOXO

Scent Trunk

The Fit Kit gives you the full, diverse palette of scents to discover. In the months after, we’ll deliver your personalized fragrance composed of the scents you love.

Ships to:
Learn More about Scent Trunk »

Explore.

Save.

Enjoy!

Sign up for a free account on A Year of Boxes to receive exclusive offers, be added to our monthly mailing list, and much more! We are always adding features to improve the experience for our users, from their valuable feedback!
Join Today!

Sorry, only registered users are able to leave comments! Please register to A Year of Boxes to leave comments!